March 25, 2023

Chris Norman – Administrative Assistant/City Recorder

The City of Dickson’s Municipal Planning Commission recently honored Kendel Barber for
her service on the board.
Barber resigned and attended her last planning commission in December after serving for
three years.
She was nominated by Dickson Mayor Don L. Weiss Jr. and approved by the Dickson City
Council July 1, 2019, to fill a vacancy created by the resignation of Beth Garrett. She was
appointed to a full three-year term Oct. 5, 2020.
Mayor Weiss nominated Dr. Mary McNeal, a pediatrician with Dickson Medical Associates,
to serve the remainder of Barber’s term until October 2023 and she was unanimously approved
by the Dickson City Council at its Feb. 6 meeting.
The eight-member Municipal Planning Commission includes six Dickson residents appointed
to three-year terms, one member of the Dickson City Council who serves in conjunction with his
or her four-year term and the mayor or his designee. Mayor Weiss chooses to designate a second
member of the City Council as his designee.
Planning and Zoning Director Jason Pilkinton praised Barber and the other members of the
commission for the work they do to guide the City of Dickson’s growth.
“This Planning Commission is a great group who cares about smart growth in the city and
takes great pride and honor in their positions,” Pilkinton said. “I work with several other cities
and their planning commissions and I always feel that we have one of the best groups and we are
lucky to have them here.”
The current membership of the Dickson Municipal Planning Commission includes
Councilpersons Jason Epley (1 st Ward) and Kyle Sanders (2 nd Ward) and citizen members Jamie
James, Steve Scherer, C.K. Pruett, Brett Reynolds and Mike Petty, who serves as chairman.
A graduate of Austin Peay State University with a Bachelor’s Degree in Business
Management and a Master of Science in Management, Barber and husband Jeff have two sons,
Brice and Mac, and a daughter, Montgomery Jean.
The Dickson Municipal Planning Commission oversees implementation of the city’s zoning
ordinances and offers guidance on the city’s growth. It meets at 6:30 pm on the third Tuesday of
each month in the Council Chambers at Dickson City Hall, 600 East Walnut St. All meetings are
open to the public.

Honoring outgoing Dickson Municipal Planning Commission member Kendel Barber
(seated) for her service are (standing, left to right) members Jamie James, Brett Reynolds,
C.K. Pruett, Mike Petty, Councilperson Jason Epley, Steve Sherer and Planning and
Zoning Director Jason Pilkinton.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.