Only incumbents seeking to be on Nov. 4 ballot for mayor, council in Slayden with deadline Thursday

As the deadline approaches to get on the Nov. 4 ballot, only the incumbent mayor and town council members have started the qualifying process in Slayden. Voters in Dickson County’s smallest municipality will elect a mayor and three council members for two-year terms. Attorney Gary Hodges was elected without opposition to his first term in 2012 and is the only person to have picked up a petition to run for mayor, but had not turned it in as of Tuesday. Incumbent council members Tammy Potts, Mary Smathers and Debbie Smith have picked up the only petitions so far to seek the three council seats, but only Smith has returned a petition as of Tuesday. Smathers and Potts were the only council candidates on the ballot in 2012 when Smith and Jerry Trotter chose not to seek re-election. After the election, Smith was appointed to fill the vacant seat. Smathers had been appointed to the council to fill the vacancy created when Roger Harrison became mayor following Michael Davenport’s resignation in 2011. The deadline to get on the Nov. 4 ballot in Slayden is noon Thursday and the deadline to withdraw is noon Aug. 28.