Landon Mathis files petition to seek second term, eight pick up papers to run for Burns commission

Burns Mayor Landon Mathis and all four incumbent commissioners have started the process of qualifying for re-election on the Nov. 4 ballot. One other candidate has picked up a petition for the mayor’s race and four other candidates have papers to run for the two-year terms on the Burns Board of Commissioners. According to the Dickson County Election Office, Mathis turned in his petition to seek a second term Tuesday. Dean Spurlock picked up a petition to run for mayor June 30 but as of Tuesday had not returned it. The deadline to turn in a petition to be on the ballot for the municipal election of a mayor and four commissioners is noon Thursday. Incumbents Bill Allen, Ed “Shot” Grove, Steven Hayes and Chris Holland have started the process to seek re-election. Also picking up petitions to run for the commission are Ricky Carpenter, Lewis Orcutt, Jerry Perella and Tase Sturgill. Orcutt previously served as a commissioner before unsuccessfully running for mayor in 2012. Sturgill was with the Burns Police Department for seven years before resigning in November 2012 a year after being named chief. Sturgill said he resigned in anticipation of Mathis selecting Paul McCallister as chief but the day before his resignation he was named in a police report as having sent explicit text messages and photographs to a woman. As of Tuesday morning’s election office report, only Hayes had turned in his completed petition. The deadline to turn in a petition is noon Thursday and the deadline to withdraw from the ballot is noon Aug. 28.