Cougars build lead, hit free throws at the end to upset Ravenwood 55-48 in regular-season finale

With nothing to gain or lose in the District 11-AAA standings, the Dickson County Cougars upset Ravenwood 55-48 Friday night in the regular-season finale. The Cougars finish the season 6-20 and were already locked in at the seventh seed with a 3-9 district record. The loss knocked Ravenwood to fifth place in the final district […]

Investigators identify body found at Montgomery Bell as 50-year-old Valerie Bodeau of Memphis

The Dickson County Sheriff’s Office announced Friday morning that the woman found deceased in a vehicle at Montgomery Bell State Park last month has been positively identified as 50-year-old Valerie Susan Bodeau. Final autopsy results are pending but a release from the sheriff’s office says foul play is not suspected at this time. The state […]

Tuesday traffic stop over seat belts leads to three arrests for Slayden-area residential burglaries

A traffic stop Tuesday evening led to the arrest of three suspects on burglary and theft charges. According to a statement from Dickson County Sheriff Jeff Bledsoe, three people were arrested in connection to burglaries reported Monday and Tuesday in the north end of the county. The sheriff says Deputy Aaron Mann was on patrol […]

Rockvale’s free throws in last minute overcome Dragon rally in midstate sectional tournament

Rockvale hit crucial free throws in the closing minute to hold off a Dickson Dragons rally 48-44 in Thursday’s opening round of the Class AAA Midstate Sectional at West Wilson Middle School. The Ravens advance to tonight’s semifinal while Dickson ends its season. Despite missing one of their leading scorers, the Dragons stormed back from […]

Creek Wood’s Ian Spence signs with Cumberland, Austin Newsom commits to UT-Martin Skyhawks

Two Creek Wood High School football players signed letters of intent on national signing day Wednesday. Quarterback and kicker Ian Spence signed to play with Cumberland University in Lebanon while lineman Austin Newsom signed with the University of Tennessee at Martin. Bulldog Coach Donnie Suber at Cumberland signed 24 players, 17 of them from Tennessee. […]